The Need for Secrecy (or not…)

Standard

Last time, on The Adventures of Cat Madigan…

I may have had a slight emotional breakdown.

I ended up writing a post about my parents, and in my stupidity, I shared it on Facebook.

Meaning my friends (or at least ones that care) know about my home life.

And my crappy blog.

And probably who Cat Madigan is.

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuudge.

So to sum it up, I am scewed.

Dammitdammitdammitdammitdammitdammitdammitdammitdammitdammit…

Ok, meltdown over.

I suppose I should be asking myself if I would want my friends to know about my blog. Which brings me to the reason I began this thing.

The main reason The Adventures of Cat Madigan started was so that I could record everything that happens to me, write down everything I’m feeling, so that I wouldn’t have so many things kept to myself, and I wouldn’t end up drowning in them. I think that’s my biggest problem; I can’t express emotion the same way everyone else does. If I’m not happy about something, I will usually keep it close to my chest, because at home, disagreement with my parents is seen as the highest disrespect. And disrespectful children will be punished.

But as of late, this is becoming too much for me. At home, I’m not allowed to think for myself; if I argue with my parents, there’s yelling and screaming on their part, and I end up losing because I am a child and I know nothing. I hear a lot of words from my parents when they yell at me; disrespectful, ungrateful, and lazy are words that come up in a lot of our fights. Here’s how they usually come up: I want to do something. My mother doesn’t want me to go out for reasons that she refuses to explain, or that she hasn’t come up with yet. She gets backup from my father, who is rarely around, but will back my mother’s side every time, because children can’t win arguments. I try to reason, and I get named disrespectful. Always that one word… Don’t they have imagination? If I had courage I’d tell them to come up with something more creative. But I’m a coward, so that’s not going to happen.

So I keep a lot of things to myself. I’m trying to break out of the habit as of late, but it’s difficult. Writing a blog is easy, talking back to people is not. With blogs, you can hide behind this persona who is telling the story. Which is why I’m worrying about my mistake yesterday. People now know the identity of Cat Madigan. True, some already did, but there’s now the frightening prospect that people can point at me and laugh, “Hey look, it’s that crazy girl who writes that blog!” Another bad thing about this is that people could start pestering me about the things I write, and try to find out who the people I write about are. Or people I write about may not like being written about. There’s always that possibility that people won’t like what I have to write about, but I knew that when I started writing, and if there ever comes a day from a nonexistent hater that rants on about something I’ve written-may not necessarily be about them- I’ll accept the consequences of my actions.

Okay, imaginary fanbase. I’ve ranted it out of my system.

So welcome, random friends on Facebook who have stumbled across my previous post and decided to keep reading!

Just remember these ground rules when you’re on this blog, (even if you’re only here because you’re bored or you were looking for something nasty and you got lost.)

1- Do not call me by my real name if you choose to comment. Think of it as my secret identity, one which I do not want found out. Just imagine how you’d feel if I exposed one of your secrets, (yes, that secret. The really embarrassing one involving a teddy bear and whipped cream. Wouldn’t want people knowing that, would you Batman?)

2- Do not ask me, “Oh, is this person actually ___________?” Because I will not tell you. Or maybe I will, but my answer shall not be true. Either way, just don’t bother asking!

3- Don’t tell others of my identity or anyone else’s. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like being kidnapped and murdered by creepy stalkers, and I know most of my friends wouldn’t either. (Except maybe MJ, he might be into that shit.)

So that’s it. And it is now time for Question of the Day! (Yes, I’m still doing this crap, even though my nonexistent fan base never does.)

How do you deal with your problems? Do you write about them, like I do, and if so, do you write in a blog or in a journal or something else? Or do you actually talk about your problems like an ordinary human bean? If you do blog about them, post your link in the comments below, and I will find you, follow you, AND THEN YOU’LL NEVER BE RID OF ME, MWAHAHAHA! >:)

If for some reason, you wish to see my last post, it is right here. Feel free to tell me whether or not I did a stupid thing, posting on Facebook like that. From now on, I’ll try not to do something that idiotic, but I’ll probably forget in a few weeks, knowing me. :p

Ta ta for now.
Love Cat Madigan.

12 thoughts on “The Need for Secrecy (or not…)

  1. A friend: Your "brother" in fact ;)

    What? What secret involving whipped cream and a teddy bear?
    There was no such thing…
    cat…
    Silly girl :P
    Anyway, like I said before, I’ll meet you on the bus before school pretty much every day now (or I’ll try to),
    so you always have someone there for you :)

  2. Imaginary Friend

    Good question, how are we going to organise a massive meet up. BTW I didnt post the last reply from Imaginary Friend. Is it possible for someone else to use your alias on this site ? Its rather creepy and weird.

  3. I rarely write about my personal life. Since I’m also a freelance writer and have a column in a woman’s newsmagazine (and write mag articles) it’s best to keep my private life private. I don’t need to be chasing clients away.

    However, I am debating over whether I should do a piece in my column about the local Catholic Church by me, who refused to baptize my granddaughter because her parents don’t give sufficient donation envelopes each week. It’s made me angry…and I want my revenge! 😝

    • Imaginary Friend

      Considering the Catholic Church is the richest organision in the world, I’d write the post. Although why you would want to baptise your grandchild into a religion which is based on fear, is beyond me.

Leave a Reply

