One Track Mind

Standard

Let me tell you about my house.

It’s being built at the moment, and we’re scheduled to move in around February. My family and Daniel went to see it yesterday.

Our current house is a whole twenty steps away from where our new house is. Mum didn’t want to leave the neighbourhood, but at the same time, our current house was too small. Mum was always complaining about my room being messy, and I was complaining about my room being used for storage.

In our new house, the upper level is for Tigger and me, because Mum doesn’t like stairs. We have a study area, a bathroom, and bedrooms for the both of us. The bathroom was yet to be built, the rooms left to be painted, but I was quite happy about where my room was.

Then Daniel and I considered the important stuff.

“Serial killer enters through the bottom level,” I said. “What do you do?”

“Scream like a little bitch.”

“I thought I said what would you do, not what would my brother do.”

“Do I have to do this?”

“Fine…” I walked to my window and looked out. “While serial killer is busy downstairs, I can climb out of the window and step down onto the roof. See?”

“Then what? It’s about 5 or 6 metres to the ground.”

“I jump.”

“…I know you’re somewhat suicidal, but-”

“It’s not that far Daniel. I don’t even think it’s 5 metres.”

“So you jump to the ground. Then what?”

“I run to get help.”

“And leave your family in there?”

“…”

“Cat!”

“Look at me Daniel. I’m puny compared to a serial killer. And I have no weapons.”

“Really?”

I roll my eyes. “In what way would I be able to stand up to a man who is physically strong and has been murdering people for ages without being caught?”

“You can outsmart him.”

“Easy for you to say.”

“Hear me out. You’re quiet, and no one can hear you approaching. Grab a knife, and-”

“Stab him? Daniel, it takes a lot to stab someone, even if I managed to do that, he’d definitely struggle.”

“Well get a gun!”

I raise an eyebrow. “If my family owned a gun, we would’ve murdered each other by now.”

“Well how do you protect your family then?”

I shake my head. “I can’t. Not without dying.”

“And?”

“Would they do it to save me?”

“I think your father would.”

“My father probably wouldn’t be there.”

“Fair point.”

“That leaves one parent. And a supposed brother.”

“Would your mother then?”

“…if she had the physical strength, then she would. But I think she would just hope that we were smart enough to get out on our own.”

“Are you?”

“You’d know that better than I would.”

His grin is sincere. “I reckon you can handle it. You handle Delirium fine, I don’t see why a serial killer would be that much of a problem.”

“I do?”

“You’re not dead.”

“Am I?”

He grins and follows me out of the room. “Keep yourself alive, and things will get easier. There’s nothing left for someone who is dead.”

Leave a Reply

