Psycho vs. Socio

Standard

Happy mode, happy mode, happy mode, happy-BZZZZZZZZZZZT!

happymode.exe is not responding at this time, please try again later.

Okay then…let’s do this from scratch.

So yesterday, I was playing Mad Father. It’s about a girl whose father is a psychopathic scientist who kills people and makes them into dolls. You know, my sort of story. Long story short, a curse on their house makes the subjects come back to life, and they go after the father, and the daughter, Aya, goes to safe him.

Spoilers, by the way.

The game has three endings, but the true ending shows Aya surviving and turning into a sociopathic murderer. It runs in the family, you know.

So what I had noticed was that Aya and her father both behaved in completely different ways, even though they both turned into killers. Her father, who I found out was called Alfred, would brutally murder subjects with a chainsaw, and would’ve murdered his own daughter the same way. Aya, on the other hand, appears sweet and cheerful, and she appears to be a kind doctor who helps poor patients…by sedating them before killing them.

It was Mad Father, and somewhat Sherlock, that got me curious about what the difference was between psychopaths and sociopaths.

So I researched.

If only I was this good with schoolwork.

Oh well.

Psychopaths are those who go beyond what is considered normal moral behaviour. Think of kids who torture animals, just to see what happens. Psychopathic tendencies are passed on through genetics, and are there from a young age.

Sociopaths, on the other hand, are simply those who lack social and emotional skills, and are unable to relate to others. But sociopaths aren’t as destructive as psychopaths; their tendencies are usually taken out on those in their personal lives. But sociopaths are usually made; if a child is raised in a cold, emotionless environment, they’re likely to shut down socially and emotionally.

Both these people lack the ethics which is normal to society, and can’t always sympathise with others. They’re also able to look at gory things without flinching, things that would make others look away.

But the major difference is that psychopaths have a charming exterior, no matter how twisted they are underneath. They are able to interact with people with ease. Sociopaths, on the other hand, don’t care about what anyone else thinks; they act exactly how they like, do exactly what they want. That’s what makes psychopaths more dangerous; you’re more likely to dislike a sociopath than a psychopath.

I wonder what I am exactly. I feel like I have to be one of these; with everything that’s going on in my head, I think there has to be something there which is the origin for it all.

I’d have to say that I think myself more sociopathic than psychopathic, but not by much. Then again, a psychiatrist might know more about me than I would. I’ve got no clue who I am anymore. Kaya or Cat. Human or…something weird.

I’m probably just plain old insane.

And for now, that’s okay.

Time to chill out now. I should take a break from scary stuff.

Mad Cat.

Leave a Reply

