The Many Names Of Cat Madigan

Standard

Today, we shall talk about names. Because I don’t feel like talking about my friend who inexplicably turned up in Delirium. So there.

Obviously my name is not actually Cat Madigan. Not in Reality anyway. That would be way too cool.

The reason I do use Cat Madigan is because that’s the name I was given in Delirium. I had been given the nickname ‘Cat’ when I was in primary school, so I kept that part of me. My last name though, is nothing like Madigan. It just came out of the blue, and I was stuck with it.

I don’t mind it though. I like Madigan. Whenever I get the opportunity, I don’t call myself by my real name, I say “My name is Cat Madigan.” I took on that identity when I ran away. Sometimes by reflex, I almost call myself Cat Madigan, even with my friends.

It’s partially habit as well. When you spend almost as much time in Delirium as Reality, it takes a toll on what you identify with. As a result, I respond to two names; my real one and my Delirium one.

I used my Delirium name because obviously, if I used my real name, my parents would most likely find this blog. I know, it’s not best for our already strained relationship if I keep secrets from them. But to explain a whole other universe that only exists in my head to one of the most judgemental people in the world would be too much to handle; they’d be angry at me for not telling them, and then they’d begin trying to stop it at every turn, until they eventually lock me up like an animal. And I really don’t want to run away again. What else is there to do if you’re locked in a cage?

Apparently, in Ireland, Madigan means ‘little dog’. That’s sort of ironic, isn’t it?

You have another name.

Eh?

Your hand, Cat.

…oh. Thankyou Kaya.

Yeah, there’s that one too. Five letters following, F R E A K. That’s my third name. It doesn’t hurt me though. Not like it once would’ve. Yes, I’m a freak. A complete anomaly. I’ve always known that though. And when you think about it, the freaks are the ones that are stronger, aren’t they?

Another thing about names; I wonder how I came up with all the ones from Delirium. Daniel and Kaya for example. Like, why would Daniel call himself Daniel as opposed to Mark or Lawrence or something. And I’ve never met anyone named Kaya before. Just like I’ve never met Thommand before, or Nereida, or pretty much anyone in Delirium with those names.

This is turning into me rambling about random things, so I am just going to look up those names and what they mean.

Daniel means: God is my judge. Apparently there was a prophet in the bible who rose to favour by interpreting visions that the king had. He also had four visions of the end of the world. Whoa….

Kaya means: Willow, wise child, yew tree, forgiveness (…really? Kaya?), home, stone. Well that tells us a lot. Not.

I couldn’t find Thommand, but I did find Thomas. It means ‘twin’, and probably ‘doubtful’, according to the bible story.

Nereida is a nymph or sea sprite. Well that part hasn’t changed.

Christan, I’m guessing, is a deviation on Christian.

I think I’ve rambled on enough about names for one post, so while I’m here, I’m going to give you a quick update on things. I have numerous assignments which require finishing, and I had my school social on Friday. Since then, my friends can’t stop singing a particular song involving me, another person and trees. Ugh…

Till next time.

Cat Madigan

8 thoughts on “The Many Names Of Cat Madigan

Leave a Reply

