Simplistic

Standard

For a moment, I’m back there. To when I’m a scared little girl, waiting for the shadows to attack me. No one knocks on my door anymore, you see; even you stopped knocking towards the end, because there wasn’t a need to. Now that there’s no Delirium, the only possible causes for the knock on my door are all from Reality. And Reality is infinitely more terrifying.

The only thing I have is my scythe. Y’know, the one I pranced around with for that photoshoot? Yup, that one. It’s ideal for taking out things in Reality, even though its blade isn’t capable of cutting anything. But it’s heavy and scary looking, and that’s all I need.

I wait for the knocking to stop and the potential murderer to go away before I step out of my room, scythe in hand. There’s no one in the hallway, so I inspect my brothers room, the spare room and the bathroom before I realise they’ve gone downstairs. But before I decide what to do next, you tap me on the shoulder, as if you had never gone away.

I swung the scythe around, hitting you with the handle, and it’s only when you stumble backwards that I realise, and drop the scythe completely. It doesn’t hurt you; you simply get up and rub your head where it hit you. You raise your eye to look at me, and I can’t help but shift my gaze away. You know what I’ve done, what I’ve failed to do. I don’t know what you want from me, why you’re here in front of me. I’m afraid of seeing your face and seeing hate.

And yet, before I can say anything, you grab me in your arms and I have all your silent answers to all my unspoken questions. Any fear or dread I had when I saw you flees my mind, and through tears, I remember everything I lost.

Leave a Reply

